Dutch Fashion Girl

Fashion, but less materialism and more life-loving!

Friday Favourites #5

Leave a comment

 

 

Favourite radical change – Moving to Rotterdam

 photo marle03_zpsa704e4b5.jpg

Well…. I’m not sure yet whether this is a ‘favourite thing’ just yet, but at least it’s intended to be… Last week, after I came back from Groningen, I spent the first nights at our new place in Rotterdam! Studies have started again, and I’ll be doing my master’s there this year. It sure is a hell of a change, and it will take some time to get used to the city and actually starting to like it, but at least I already LOVE our appartment! I’ll be living with two friends from Groningen, and at the moment we’re super busy decorating and furnishing it. Our living room/kitchen is super huge, so a couple of ideas have been discussed already: a tabletennis + pool table, a tennis court, a ballet studio, a cinema…. or just a room full of couches ๐Ÿ˜‰ What would you guys choose? ๐Ÿ™‚

Favourite activity – introduction camp leader

 photo marle04_zps0e962e55.jpg

Last weekend I went to the German island of Borkum for the introduction camp of the faculty association of my ‘former’ (I feel so sad when I say that) university. I was a camp leader and had the greatest fun! I had the best group – except for their over-enthusiasm which resulted in our team belly gliding while it was like 15 degrees outside and raining a bit. Yes, needless to say: we were the only team doing that, oh well, I survived ๐Ÿ˜‰ The second night we had a theme party, and I was so proud seeing them all dressed up like basketball players and rappers, and with flags painted on their faces (our team was themed USA ;-)), and for me it was a perfect occasion to legimately dress up like a cheerleader for once! Oh, and I won the costume competition!!

Favourite idea – Moroccan relax room

In our new appartment, we have some sort of office space, seperated from the living room with a glass wall.. Of course, we were doubting about what to do with it, since we don’t feel grown-up enough yet to have an office space :)) The idea came to mind to make it a giant bed with cushions etc, and those cute little lanterns with coloured candles in it hanging from the ceiling. Some trays for food and drinks (tea of course!) should make it complete ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’s so cool to have this รผber relaxed space and really hope we can realize it ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course, I’ll show you pics if we manage ๐Ÿ™‚

Favourite book – the new Sophie Kinsella

 photo marle01_zps0372a6ee.jpg

I’ve always been a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella’s books, actually ever since I discovered ‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ while on a holiday with my parents. Her books always make me laugh out loud, and her newest, Wedding Night (Ik krijg je wel in Dutch), was no exception. Simple, yes. Feel good book, DEFINITELY. And that’s what counts, isn’t it ladies?

Favourite thing to do – Beach days

 photo marle02_zpsb60c444f.jpg

Now that I live in the western part of the country, it’s FINALLY easy to go to other large cities (such as The Hague and Amsterdam) without being on the train like forever – forever according to Dutch terms, I know that you foreigners consider everything next door when in Holland ;). Yesterday, the weather was perfect, so we decided to hop on the subway in front of our home, which drives all the way to The Hague central station, and go to the beach in Scheveningen! It was just great to have such a last holiday-like day ๐Ÿ™‚

Author: Marle

Msc Strategic Management student at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Blogger at dutchfashiongirl.com, passionate about food, fashion, perfume, books..

Leave a Reply

