Dutch Fashion Girl

Fashion, but less materialism and more life-loving!

New Year’s Resolutions

4 Comments



life | Tumblr

Yep, I’ve done it. I made New Year’s resolutions. I know that they shouldn’t be too challenging and optimistic, but hey.. what’s the fun then, right?! So.. I made a quite challenging list, and I’m really planning to keep up with at least some of them πŸ™‚ You know that saying: Shoot for the moon, you might land on one of the stars.

  • I won’t drink any ‘fruit’ juices I’m more and more convinced about how bad all the things are that we took to us every day. I’ve recently heard that most of the juices you buy in the supermarket, and drink almost every day (especially when I’m at my parent’s) are based on syrup rather than real fruit. A Belgium researcher even claims that you have a 70% chance on getting Alzheimer’s disease. So, no juices anymore.. with of course room for an occasional exception πŸ˜‰
  • Train for a Victoria’s Secret body This is kind of a ‘shoot for the moon, land on a star’-resolution, yes. Haha. Anyway, I want to work out much more, train for the run in February that I signed up for and get more toned. Not necessarily only losing weight, more like a healthy lifestyle and getting a more toned body. I already became a member of the gym opposite to my house, so that’s a good start.
    Eat Healthy Train Hard | via Tumblr
  • Be able to run 15 kms at the end of 2014 In addition to the one before, I want to get past my all time record and be able to run 15 kms at the end of 2014, without it getting me totally out of breath and into the ‘heart-attack-danger’-zone.
  • Getting my master’s This should be doable, since I’m really on track. In June/July I should be getting my master’s degree! πŸ™‚
  • Invest more time in friends Me and all my friends are so busy lately that sometimes we seriously hardly have time to see each other. I don’t really think that’s a healthy situation, so I’ll try to invest more time in my friends in 2014.
  • Remove my make up every day Yeah, really bad that I’m not still doing that, but it’s the truth. It should be an easy thing to keep up to, since I’ve gotten better at it lately!
  • Buy good skincare products In addition to the one before, I’m the kind of girl that doesn’t really use skincare because I’m blessed with a pretty good skin myself, which makes me lazy. Now that I’m in my twenties, I think it would be wise to get it in my routine. I already went to the store yesterday to get some samples to try out a cream that I’m thinking of buying.
  • Get my haircut in time I seriously never do this. I always wait and wait and wait to the point that my hair is really messed up and I simply have to go. I usually get so super annoyed at some point that I immediately run to the hairdresser and ask whether they have an opening RIGHT NOW. And then I’m so ashamed to show them my hair because it’s at its worst then πŸ˜‰ So; get the haircut in time.
  • Read 10 books I got this one from a, in my opinion, really good list with resolutions where they suggest to immediately also make a list of the 10 books that you want to read. So here it comes.. it’s a mixture of some literature that I’ve been meaning to read for a while now, a couple of chicklits that I haven’t read yet (also to make it more fun!), and some books that I still have piled up here in my apartment and that are waiting to finally get read.
  1. The Fault in Our Stars (I’ve heard so much about this book, it’s said to be REALLY good)
  2. Bad Pharma (I’m currently writing my thesis about a subject related to the pharmaceutical industry and a friend of mine studies pharmacy.. so I hear about all the things concerned with this world and the fraud and weird things that are happening there. I bought the book in London and it’s really super interesting and a must-read for everyone, basically. I only got to page 20, so.. about time to really get started in it!)
  3. Freakonomics (I also bought this one in London, haven’t had the time to start in it yet)
  4. To Kill a Mocking Bird (It’s said to be a really good book, and of course, it’s a classic. So, it’s been on my to-read list for a while)
  5. Bridget Jones – Mad About the Boy (A new Bridget Jones!! Of course this should be on the reading list!)
  6. Gone Girl (Also heard so many lyrical stories about this book…)
  7. A Casual Vacancy (Seriously, this has been on my nightstand for about a year. I’m almost halfway through, can’t really say it’s one of the best books I’ve ever touched, but it’s said to get better in the second half. I just really should finish this one)
  8. Anna Karenina (started in it and I like it a lot. Just haven’t had the time to really read it, it’s SO thick)
  9. The Kite Runner (never read it and I really should)
  10. The Darkroom of Damocles (One of my mom’s favourite books, Dutch literature, and never read it. About time to change that ;))

Photo credits: www.weheartit.com

Author: Marle

Msc Strategic Management student at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Blogger at dutchfashiongirl.com, passionate about food, fashion, perfume, books..

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. My resolutions are pretty similar to yours ha! Getting fit is the first on my list too. Good luck with yours!
    Great blog by the way!

    Sarah-Jane xo
    http://www.vintagemagpies.co.uk

  2. Also have to decide on some good resolutions for the new year!

Leave a Reply

