Dutch Fashion Girl

Fashion, but less materialism and more life-loving!

READ : BRIDGET JONES – MAD ABOUT THE BOY

Leave a comment



 photo madabout01_zps26c1c15a.png

Last spring… that was the moment I heard about a NEW Bridget Jones for the first time. It got me so super excited, since they’re the best feelgood movies ever, like EVER. And, minor detail, I have a mega Hugh Grant-crush. Anyways, I immediately thought about the movie, yes, not the book. Shame on me.

You should know, that the Bridget Jones books are, for some reason, one of the few books that I thought were LESS good than the movie. And I never have that. Maybe it was because I was pretty young when I (tried to) read them, I think it was around the age of 12… Not really an age on which you can relate to the things Bridget goes through as a 30-something maybe, haha. I was reading a lot of more ‘adultry’ books, so I was convinced the book was to blame, not me. On the other hand, I must say that reading sentences with ‘I’ missing (like: “dreamed about Hugh Grant moving into the appartment next to mine, and suddenly reverse-aging about 20 years”) was more than annoying in Dutch, in my opinion. So, I never really read the second book and was surprised that I liked the movies THAT much.

Anyway, the new book. Of course I had to read it and try again. I am older now, so I can relate a little better, or that’s what I thought. Little did I know that Helen Fielding had Bridget age about 20 years since the last book. HA-HA SAME PROBLEM. Luckily for us, she’s still behaving like the old Bridget (and to thΓ‘t I can relate quite a bit, unfortunately ;)). And even though Hugh Grant, ehm, I mean Daniel Cleaver, has an eenee-meenee tiny role in this book, and Mark none at all (you’ll find out why…), I must say that I liked the book. Still a little less than the movies, and I must say I didn’t read it in only one or two days.. But within a week I finished it, which is still quite fast considering the time I should dedicate to my thesis these days.

So… are you looking for a funny (because, yes it was!), easy-read and do you also feel obliged to stay up-to-date on the affairs of Bridget Jones’ life? Then you’re definitely not going to regret reading this one πŸ™‚

Author: Marle

Msc Strategic Management student at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Blogger at dutchfashiongirl.com, passionate about food, fashion, perfume, books..

Leave a Reply

